Blessed 2015

Standard

 

Butterfly 01

Blessed 2015

Here we are on the ‘other’ side of Christmas.  How are you feeling?

Christmas has not always been the most looked-forward to event in my life.  When I went through a deep healing journey many years ago, Christmas caused me a lot of depression and I struggled to stay positive.  It reminded me of all that I had lost – which was pretty much everything from my marriage to the home our kids grew up in, to my ability to work because of emotional illness, to the estrangement of my extended family for many years.  It was not a good time in my life.

I’m happy to say I lived through all that and stand here on the flip side with a whole lot of different ways of thinking.  Christmas has become a joyous time again for me.  And it’s not about what I can ‘buy’ for Christmas.  Some years I have a little more money.  Some years I have none! Being happy, content and joyful has little to do with money, and everything to do with loving and being loved…

Today I feel…peaceful and joy-full.  We had such a lovely time yesterday – and for the first time in about six years my daughter Jayne was with us!  We laughed, loved and yes, ate!  At the end of the day we dispersed to our various homes, and I felt blessed to have been together.

Family is EVERYTHING to me.  One of the reasons I feel I’ve been put on this earth is to support my children and grandkids and I do so with pure joy.  There is nothing more fulfilling to me to see their happy faces, hear their laughter, and take pride in who they’ve become despite the painful years we went through together.

And I wish to take this time to thank each of my kids.  They are the ones who kept me going when I was in a dark place – they were my motivation to get well when I could find no other reason to try.  I love  them so deeply – as well as the  wonderful mates they have chosen and of course my beyond beautiful grandbabies!

One more gift I have been given is the restoration of relationship with many of my siblings – and for that I am truly blessed.  I had to find peace in thinking that we may not speak again until we were all together  in the next life.  But God saw fit to restore many of those relationships and I am beyond ecstatic that they are back in my life again.  (I’m realizing now that much of my angst around those relationships I thought were lost, was my own angst – and that quite possibly I never did lose them – but took myself out of the equation for many years).  For that, I feel sorry – but happy to know that there has been healing between us.

God has restored to me what I have lost.  If I didn’t have my faith in God, I truly don’t know how I would have made it. If I had no belief that, even in the darkness, God still had my best interests at heart, I would have been swallowed up entirely.  I truly don’t know how others make it when they have no faith in anything but themselves.  While I believe having faith in oneself is very important – I’ve come to know from these dark experiences in my life that having faith in oneself only can be a very lonely and scary way to live.  I stand in awe of God’s mercy and faithfulness to me, and although many of my beliefs have changed from the beliefs I was taught as a child – my relationship with God has never been closer.

Thankfully, this Christmas has left me feeling fulfilled and blessed.  But I know also what it’s like to not be able to bear holidays like this one.  I hope and pray that for those of you that feel this way, this year, that you can hold on to the hope that our entire life ebbs and flows.  Good and bad are inevitable in this life.  If we can hold on in the bad, lonely, scary times and never give up – the good, better, and best times will follow.

 

 

 

 

 

About chere

Hi there! My name is Chere, and I love to write, and initially created this blog to do just that - write! I am first and foremost a mom of 3 amazing young adults, 2 great children - in - law, and 4 grandbabies that are the love of my life! I am also a Reiki Master Practioner, and an office administrator. I live in beautiful Victoria, BC and I'm just a gal who's been around and learned a few things along the way. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy! Chere

4 responses »

  1. Hi Chere:

    This is a beautiful post and the new page is gorgeous. Well done! And many thanks for sharing. I am so pleased to hear how well things are going for you your personal family as well as your family of origin. Being reminded of all the blessings in one’s life is so important and very humbling. Thank you!

    All the best,

    Margaret

  2. Hi Chere : Merry Christmas to you and yours. I to feel blessed to have this time here with my husband and our daughter as well as our four legged children. Life if such a funny thing at times and often hard to describe. I have always loved my family but for one reason of another we are all separated from each other either with geographical issues or other more serious ones of emotional wounds that seem not to heal. I am sad at times that it is that way and wish it were not. I trust that life is being good to those I have no contact with. At this time of year I always miss my brother and Mom who are no longer with us but I believe that they are with us in our hearts and for me in so many things that I do. Christmas Day is my brothers birthday a reminder that will always be with me. I always do something special for him often no one even knows I am doing it I just do it quietly that is something that he was famous for doing just a quiet kind of guy. I always feel their presents here with me and I know I am never alone. I to am a believer in the higher power there is so much more to all of this than we know. Today I have been enjoying the comfort of home and my pets and the company of friends. I admire you and your writing and your post touched me as I am sure it will many others. Wishing you blessings ❤

    • Thank you so much for sharing, Rita! I appreciate your thoughts. I too have family members ‘on the other side’ that I miss greatly – but I also believe they are not that far from us and are watching over us always. Wishing you a very happy and prosperous New Year!

Leave a Reply

