2015 – Shall We Bring Compassion?

Standard

compassion

Life is starting to settle down now after the holidays.  Not sure about you, but I’m glad to be getting ‘back into the swing of things’ once more.

In years past, my first post of the new year was about my new year ritual – intention setting, looking back, looking forward, deciding what changes I need to make to become the person I wish to be in the coming year.  But not this year.  This year there were no rituals.  Why not? Because I’ve grown darn tired of trying to ‘fix’ myself.  What if I’m ok, just as I am? What if I’m good enough, right now, just as I am?   Of course I am!!!

For those of you on my facebook page, you might remember my AHA moment in early December. I realized, during a yoga class, of all places, just how much I’ve been warring with myself – particularly in the area of my body.  But thinking about it even more, I’ve been warring against myself in many other areas as well.  I’ve never really felt completely at peace with where I was.

In this new year, at long last, I DO feel at peace, right where I am.  I don’t feel the need to always be at war with myself about how I need to do it better, or differently.  Or how I need to always be pushing myself to become something else.  So, if there’s one thing I’m bringing into 2015, it’s more compassion.  More compassion for myself, most definitely. And also more compassion for others.  Because we are all on our own journey. We are all working at learning the lessons life throws at us.  And some of us approach those lessons differently than others.  So what?  I believe each of us are doing the best we can  with the tools that we have.

Recently I was listening to a speaker on youtube.  She suggested that what is inside of us is what we project into the world.  If that’s chaos, then that’s what we’re putting out there around us.  If this is true, then I’d much rather be giving off peace than a constant feeling of dissatisfaction, worry, or self-loathing.

Now, I consider myself a pretty confident, strong woman.  Some might say I’m driven to becoming better and better version of myself.   And I don’t think there’s a thing wrong with that!  But I am starting to believe that ‘becoming better and better’ needs to  be paired with a great amount of compassion for ourselves.

So, perhaps some of you will join me in bringing a larger amount of compassion into your own self-care, and spreading that compassion into the lives of those around you.

Wishing you all a very happy, healthy and prosperous 2015!

About chere

Hi there! My name is Chere, and I love to write, and initially created this blog to do just that - write! I am first and foremost a mom of 3 amazing young adults, 2 great children - in - law, and 4 grandbabies that are the love of my life! I am also a Reiki Master Practioner, and an office administrator. I live in beautiful Victoria, BC and I'm just a gal who's been around and learned a few things along the way. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy! Chere

Leave a Reply

