Make A Plan, They Told Me…

Standard

Back near the beginning of the year I wrote about the importance of making a plan.  Well, I’m writing about this again, to remind myself that making some plans are once again the order of the day for me, because with this new, work from home job, it seems like it’s going to be quite easy for all my good intentions to fall away, as I get ‘sucked up’ into the work before me.

Already, and I’m not even doing this full time yet, I’m seeing myself get drawn in to every waking hour here at the computer, trying to  learn this stuff and getting my feet wet trying new things.  And while right now it’s all very exciting and fun, I can see that all too easily everything around me gets forgotten, until it’s time for bed and I realize that I have barely done anything else.

I also have a very bad habit of closing everything around me off – not seeing, not hearing, not acknowledging.  Until, that is, I look up to find that everything else around me is falling apart and I just didn’t notice….

You see, once upon a time in a very unwell part of my life I was addicted to the computer.  Chat rooms, specifically.  I remember those days with great sadness and shame, because, well, I was hurting deeply inside, and spending my days in a chat room was where I was able to forget the pain.

And in my new life, my life that is about balance and health and trying to honor my ‘self’ in a way I never was able to before – because I was never ‘awake’ enough to realize the damage I was doing……in this, new life, I cannot for one second afford to forget the inner work that I have done to get to where I am.  And I cannot for one second forget the outer work that I am just learning to do over this past year….in my quest to have my outside world (which was very unhealthy) mimic my inside world (which is, nowadays, very healthy).

In these past few months, blogworld, I have seen myself slipping somewhat, from my healthy ways.  Now, I know there has been a lot going on – a lot of inner turmoil, a lot of grieving, a lot of work-related stress,  and, more recently, a LOT of sickness.  (Not serious sickness, but colds, flu, fatigue, etc, that seems to NOT want to get behind me)  In fact, as I write this tonight, I have had about 3 days of wellness and have been plunged once again into a headcold.  It’s very discouraging, but I think I just have not had enough time to build up my immune system ‘in between’ periods of illness.

So, I’m here tonight, writing this, because I have remembered how much easier it was a few months ago when I was writing out my plans, and keeping myself on track.  I guess I’m here for myself, then, because I’m fiercely determined to be successful at this new job despite the fact that once upon a time the computer controlled my life.  I will NOT let that happen again, because I am NOT in that place and I am determined to never go to that place again.  But, in order to do that, I must be firm in my resolve to make plans.  Make a plan.  Carry out the plan.   Review the plan.  Was it a good plan?  Do I need to update the plan?  Make another plan.  And so on…..

Here is my plan.

I intend to remain constant with my spiritual practices…which include prayer, journaling, visualization, meditating, qi gong, and yes, blogging!  Now, these ALL do not happen every-single-day….but they do happen on a very regular basis.

I intend to stay connected to the people that I care about and love.

I intend to volunteer.  Someplace.  Not sure where, at the moment.  But I have a few ideas….

I intend to get outside in the fresh air (cold, or rainy doesn’t matter) at least once every day.  Even if only for 15 minutes. Fresh air clears the mind, and refreshes the spirit.

I intend to continue with my green smoothies. Every. Day.

I intend to, as much as is possible, purchase only organic.  Vegetables, fruit, and grass fed meat, where available.

I intend to, as much as is possible, not eat processed foods.  That is, shop the outer aisles, stay clear of the inner aisles.  I’ve been doing pretty well with this one! 🙂

My goal is to be eating fermented foods with every meal.  Here’s why.  My intention is to learn how to make my own fermented foods, so that I always have them on hand.

Another goal of mine is  to learn how to eat grain-free.  Not just gluten free.  But grain-free.  I have tried this already, and believe me, it is NOT easy.  (Especially when you’re addicted to bread!)  To be successful I am going to really need to spend time on my cooking, and, my kids will tell you, I do NOT really much like to cook.  So, for now, I’m putting this one out there, just to remind myself that this IS what I want.  I will have to take babysteps with this one, though….and that’s ok!

That, my dear blog friends, is my initial plan.  It may have to change, or shift, or be reviewed (as all plans do, anyhow, from time to time).  But I am setting my intention, here and now.  Hold me to it, my friends.

Best WISHes,

Chere

About chere

Hi there! My name is Chere, and I love to write, and initially created this blog to do just that - write! I am first and foremost a mom of 3 amazing young adults, 2 great children - in - law, and 4 grandbabies that are the love of my life! I am also a Reiki Master Practioner, and an office administrator. I live in beautiful Victoria, BC and I'm just a gal who's been around and learned a few things along the way. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy! Chere

Leave a Reply

