Getting Back on Track with Self Care..

Standard

The past few weeks of angst took a toll on my self care plan.  Exercising pretty much went out the window.  In sauntered the infamous duo – “I don’t care”, and “It doesn’t matter” .  It was not so much fun to see them show up  again.  They seem to be my default, when I’m not in such a good place…and they can affect many areas of my life.  I’m working hard at running them outta town again.. 🙂

But, I’m getting back on track this week.  I did my Qi Gong this morning.  That’s a start, right?   And tomorrow I’ll add in my 10 minutes of weight bearing exercise, and get back into the swing of doing these daily.  But, not everything went by the wayside.  I’m still drinking the green smoothies every morning.  How do I feel, after 2.5 weeks of morning green smoothies?  Well, I’ve noticed a few things.  A clearer mind, overall.  I don’t even know how to describe this, actually.  I didn’t know I needed a clearer mind in the first place.  But I have seen a difference in clarity since I started the smoothies.  And more energy.  Drinking one actually gives me an energy boost that’s pretty immediate.  That’s all I have for breakfast, these days.  I don’t even need coffee for that ‘wake-up’ zing.  However, I do still like my coffee.  Not quite ready to give up my coffee habit, just yet…

I have also continued walking at least twice a week.  And I’ve kept up with  the daily visualization (from The Gabriel Method) which I have talked about previously. Visualization helps to change mindset….helps us to begin to see things in a different way.  It’s also very relaxing!  I do my main visualization just before I go to sleep.  I also continue to do the dry brushing on my skin.  Dry brushing is good for exfoliating, circulation, and most importantly to keep the lymph system running smoothly.  The benefit I have found with this is I’ve noticed my skin is quite a bit softer!  Nice to the touch! 😉

I don’t think I’ve lost any more weight, so far.  I’m not sure, but it doesn’t ‘feel’ like it.  But it’ll come.  I’m not in a great rush….I really at this point want to know I’m finally doing right by the one body I was given.  One thing I do need to watch is the panic that sometimes sets in when I feel like things aren’t going ‘fast enough’.  But again, being aware enough to recognize when this fearfulness arrives, makes it easier to shoo it away…

Anyhow, I’m trying hard to get back onto my daily schedule.  The one thing I have noticed, overall, is that it is not taking me nearly as long to ‘get back at it’ when I fall off the wagon.  “I Don’t Care and It Doesn’t Matter” used to move in as soon as I would slip up even a little, and all my good intentions would go out the window.  But now that I’m aware of these two culprits of negativity, I’m quicker at being able to acknowledge their arrival, and remind myself that it’s not ok for them to live with me anymore.  And soon enough, they become quiet.  So I can get back to working on exquisite self care.

 

About chere

Hi there! My name is Chere, and I love to write, and initially created this blog to do just that - write! I am first and foremost a mom of 3 amazing young adults, 2 great children - in - law, and 4 grandbabies that are the love of my life! I am also a Reiki Master Practioner, and an office administrator. I live in beautiful Victoria, BC and I'm just a gal who's been around and learned a few things along the way. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy! Chere

One response »

  1. It’s certainly easier said than done when you have not lived a life full of exercise and healthy eating being part of your everyday routine. It takes 21 days apparently to get into a routine, and I’m guess that also applies to falling out of one.. and or… 21 days of doing what you do not want to do can easily turn into a lifestyle pattern.

    I think the first part of resolving the issue is being aware it exists, and it sounds like you are really on the ball with that aspect. Now just for some commitment and encouragement!! 😀

    Great blog post, thanks so much for sharing

Leave a Reply

