What if….I really AM ok, just as I am right now?

Standard

I just got off the phone with a life coach.  I won a coaching session through a site I am a member of.  I spent 90 minutes talking to this amazing person and came away with some thought provoking questions and ideas.

One thing that came to the forefront for me as we were talking was how much I’m always trying to fix myself.  As if I’m not good enough, just as I am.  As if…I’ve never been good enough….as if….I’ll never BE good enough…

But, what if I am? What if I am good enough, just as I am right now?  What if I can let go of the niggly, desperate feeling that I’ll never be good enough?  Letting go of the need to be better is something I’ve honestly never considered.  It’s been with me so long, it’s like it’s part of who I am.  But what if my need to be better, be best, be perfect doesn’t have to be part of me, at all?  What would it be like to let it go?

This man talked about how self worth is innate.  It cannot be earned, and it cannot be unearned.  It reminded me of a phrase I once read years ago in a book called The Search for Significance.   The phrase went something like this:

I am worth far more than just my performance, for Christ died on the cross for me.  I am deeply loved, fully pleasing, totally forgiven, and unconditionally accepted.

There’s that word again, for those of you who might be following along.  My word-of-the-year. WORTH.  I think it is no coincidence that I chose it.  In fact, it most likely chose me.

Maybe it’s time I slow my frantic strivings  to be better – and realize my true worth in the eyes of the One who created me….

About chere

Hi there! My name is Chere, and I love to write, and initially created this blog to do just that - write! I am first and foremost a mom of 3 amazing young adults, 2 great children - in - law, and 4 grandbabies that are the love of my life! I am also a Reiki Master Practioner, and an office administrator. I live in beautiful Victoria, BC and I'm just a gal who's been around and learned a few things along the way. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy! Chere

One response »

Leave a Reply

