Thank Heaven for Good Counsellors!!

Standard

Yesterday, I made an appointment with my counsellor.  Yes, I do have one.  And she’s the greatest.

I made an appointment because I’ve been feeling out of sorts, as anyone who’s been reading my blog thus far might have noticed.  Grumpy.  Irritable.  And, something I didn’t mention in the blog, crying at the drop of a hat.

Well, in the first 15 minutes this amazing lady had once again placed her finger on the sore spot.  She’s done this hundreds, even thousands of times, for me.  She zones in, and before I know what’s happening she’s made me aware of something I wasn’t connecting to up till yesterday.  And that was……I’m grieving.  Again.

It’s no coincidence that I’ve written this past week about the death of my parents.  I’ve been missing them, terribly.  And I have not been aware enough of what’s happening on the inside to realize that I need to set aside some time to grieve again.  And so, instead, I began to feel very out of sorts, angry with anyone and everyone, extra tired, and just generally grumpy.

I left that office yesterday feeling a huge weight had been lifted from my shoulders.  Sometimes, we just simply aren’t able to make a connection between what’s eating us and what’s really going on inside.  That’s where my counsellor comes in.  Honestly, I owe her my life.  She’s that good.

And I left that office,  knowing exactly what I had to do.  Make time to grieve.  And she has given me the tools to be able to do just that, in a healthy and safe way that won’t include irritability and barking at people for the smallest things.

Seeing a counsellor can make a huge difference in one’s life.  If you’re even thinking a tiny bit that you might benefit from one, take the plunge.  Begin your search.  You do have to find the ‘right fit’.  Don’t just settle for someone who doesn’t feel right to you.  There has to be a connection…

If you’re ready to make some changes, and do the work, I can guarantee you will NOT be sorry.  But don’t expect them to ‘fix’ you.  They have the skills to point you in the right direction, but you must do the work to get yourself there.

And once you finally arrive, after the work is done, life can truly be amazing.

Thank you, M, cause I know you’re reading.  You’re the best, ever!

About chere

Hi there! My name is Chere, and I love to write, and initially created this blog to do just that - write! I am first and foremost a mom of 3 amazing young adults, 2 great children - in - law, and 4 grandbabies that are the love of my life! I am also a Reiki Master Practioner, and an office administrator. I live in beautiful Victoria, BC and I'm just a gal who's been around and learned a few things along the way. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy! Chere

Leave a Reply

