Mid Week Check In..

Standard

Another blogger I follow recently mentioned in one of her posts that she blogs to keep herself on track.  And I thought to myself, yes!  That’s it exactly!  That’s one main reason I’m here.  To keep myself to my plans for the year as best I can, and on the way, get some practice in writing and hey, maybe a few people might even like what I write.

A few moments ago I got all excited when I logged in to find I had my first follower!  Then I realized that I was that follower…duh.  Yes, somehow, I had clicked on follow and now, ahem, I’m following my own blog!  Too funny.

So how am I doing?  Right now I’m reading “The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle.  He talks about the power in learning how to stay present…in the Now.  Not in the future or in the past, which is where most of us live.  It’s not easy to stay in the present, that’s for sure.  To be fully present, in the moment, takes practice, and lots of patience.  I’m certainly not there yet.  But I’m trying to learn. So, learning how to live mindfully….check.

Eating fairly well…check.

Exercising….check.  I’m so proud of this one!

Giving myself Reiki…….check.

Making sure I go to bed on time….check.

I think I’ve actually lost a teensy bit of weight! Yay me!

One important thing I’m doing is ‘loving on’ my body.  For so many years I have neglected my body, felt totally disconnected from her.  Despised her for being everything I hated.  I decided, all on my own, that it was time to love her.  And not just say it, but physically tell her that she is loved.  A few times a week I spend time thanking her for the health she’s allowed me to have thus far, even though I’ve pretty much abused her up till now.  I concentrate on different parts of my body and tell them how much they are appreciated for the amazing, miraculous work they keep doing every single moment of every single day.  And I tell her that it’s ok, now, to let go of the body armor (the weight) that she placed around her to keep her safe.  I tell her it’s ok, she’s safe, now.  So safe.  And I’m present, now, to make sure she stays that way…

No one taught me to do this.  I just began to feel deep within myself that this is important. My body has been working hard for me, and I have been unappreciative.  Until now, that is.

So, I think I’m doing pretty good with the self care this week. I’m fairly determined that this must be a year of change for me…and I know that by keeping these goals out in front I stand a better chance at seeing them through.

Stay tuned..! 🙂

About chere

Hi there! My name is Chere, and I love to write, and initially created this blog to do just that - write! I am first and foremost a mom of 3 amazing young adults, 2 great children - in - law, and 4 grandbabies that are the love of my life! I am also a Reiki Master Practioner, and an office administrator. I live in beautiful Victoria, BC and I'm just a gal who's been around and learned a few things along the way. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy! Chere

Leave a Reply

