Some Words to Inspire..

Standard

Hello again,

I’m a member of a site called spiralupyoga.com.  The owner of this site, John, sends some really wonderful, wise words to my inbox every few days, and this email is one I just felt I had to share…I  love how this man thinks.  Hope you enjoy..

There is something about the beginning of a new year that seems to bring out all the advice about finding your true purpose in life.  I used to fall for that one, usually with the result that I would feel anxious and frustrated that I was another year older and no closer to finding my elusive purpose that I was supposedly born to do.  I used to believe that if I could just find it, everything would fall into place and there would be no distinction between work and play, and the money would start flowing in great abundance. That was what all the advice givers promised. What was I missing?

If these types of thoughts have fooled you too, you’re in good company (all of us who have the luxury of thinking beyond the question of where food is going to come from tomorrow).  Even those who think they’ve stumbled upon their unique purpose in the form of some great work, haven’t really.  They’ve only found what they currently are enthused by (which is great).  But, what if there was no such thing as your unique purpose?  What if instead, we all have the exact same purpose in life?

I have since come to see that we all have a common purpose in life, and it has nothing to do with what we do for a living and everything to do with what we let life do to us.  My purpose (and yours) is not to figure out how I can change life, but to allow life to change me (or remind me of the truth of who I am).  It is to use every experience I face to gradually increase in awareness, appreciation and awe of the miracle and mystery of life.  It is to enjoy the very fact of being alive and embodied and here, now.  Whatever each of us decides to contribute to life as a result of our current level of awareness is what makes us each unique. And as our awareness, appreciation and awe for life grows, the things we will naturally be inspired to contribute will change, which means there is no such thing as a singular life mission or calling that you either find or miss, just a string of contributions that evolve as your awareness evolves.

And one more thing; there is no surprise deadline called death that closes the curtain on this process of growth and contribution.  That’s another anxiety producing lie. Because we don’t die, only our physical bodies die.  We continue to evolve in awareness and to contribute from a higher level of awareness, only in a different dimension of even greater possibility.  You don’t have to believe that.  You don’t have to believe what every spiritual sage and saint through the ages has come to see for themselves. But why not trust them?  Believing this to be true allows you to relax and experience “our” true purpose without the fear and anxiety that accompany trying to find “your” true purpose in some work that you must do before death shuts you down.To your greater well being.

John.

http://spiralupyoga.com

About chere

Hi there! My name is Chere, and I love to write, and initially created this blog to do just that - write! I am first and foremost a mom of 3 amazing young adults, 2 great children - in - law, and 4 grandbabies that are the love of my life! I am also a Reiki Master Practioner, and an office administrator. I live in beautiful Victoria, BC and I'm just a gal who's been around and learned a few things along the way. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy! Chere

Leave a Reply

